Places: Cleveland Metroparks Rainforest, Cleveland, OH

Standard

I was never a big animal person growing up, but the more I learn about animals and discover how intelligent they are, the more I have come to appreciate them.  I’m torn about zoos because I love seeing all of the different species, but it would be way more fun to be able to interact more with them.  Here are some of the pictures I took from the Rainforest in Cleveland, OH.

Monkey (Sorry, I didn’t make note of the scientific names of all these animals, so my made up names will have to do):

Chameleon:

Very large python:

Green Frogs (Can you count how many there are?):

Extremely large (and unhappy looking) rodent:

Alligator:

Really interesting looking frogs with cartoonish looking eyes:

Green snake:

Interesting Birds:

Turtles:

Monkey:

Monkey scratching his butt:

Really awesome blue frogs:

Really awesome black and green frog:

More really awesome black and green frogs:

Bats!!:

Really freaky looking underside of a gecko:

Lizard:

And now for my favorites!  The adorably hilarious Mrs. Orangutan picking stuff out of very patient Mr. Orangutan’s ear :

Mrs. Orangutan giving the camera innocent looks:

My ultimate favorite animal in the whole world, three toed sloth!!:

I hope you liked these adorable, intriguing animals as much as I did!  It is so fascinating how many different species are out there, and I am glad we got a chance to see just a few of the many amazing creatures there are in the world.

5 responses »

  1. Lots of cute animals there, Stephanie! So the rodent looking thing is a Capybara I think. You can learn about them in a Bill Peet book called Capyboppy, his pet Capybara. I didn’t know you liked the three-toed sloth…is it because it sleeps a lot? Very colorful pictures!

    • Haha, I do love sleep, and that sloths sleep, and I would love to be a sleeping sloth, but I also think they’re so ugly it is incredibly cute! I also love how slowly they move. It’s fascinating.

  2. Capybaras!!! I LOVE capybaras!! We saw some in Brazil. They resemble fat yet noble looking little bear cubs and they galumph around really peaceably. Capybobby is such a great book.

    • Wow, you’re so lucky you got to see them in the wild! Unfortunately the one at the zoo wasn’t galumphing, but maybe I’ll see another one someday. And maybe I’ll get to listen to you read Capybobby to me sometime in your Mrs. Dong teacher voice. 🙂

  3. The rodent is either a capybara or a common beaver. They look a lot alike. The capybara is the largest surviving rodent species with the beaver holding the number two slot. Prehistoric relatives of the capybara were the size of a bear.

    I think the red bird is a scarlet ibis.

Leave a Reply

